About Me

I am a 49 year old mother of many (eight to be exact, three that I spawned and 5 additional that I claim).  I am in a committed relationship of 20 years with a man who is the love of my life. He is a collector of WWII militaria, and he is my partner in historical research.  I have been fascinated with Genealogy  since I was a child listening to the stories of my father's paternal Grand Father, Grandpa Hadsell.  I don't remember how often we went to see Grandpa Hadsell.  I think it may have been twice a month, and he only lived at the other end of town.  But what I do remember was the pictures albums.  Black and white snapshots carefully placed 6 per page, with the little black corner holders carefully holding each one.   Those photo albums were the only introduction I had to my great grandmother Dariel Antonia Orella.  Later when I was 19 years old, I  received a printed family history of the Orella's dating back to Grandma Dariel's grandfather Francisco.  I was hooked.

I have traced (with the help of other relative genealogists) one line back to the 1600's, several to the early 1800's and my husbands paternal line back to Norway. 

I have spent the last 30 years trying to determine what in fact I want to be when I grow up.  Then I realized that I wanted to be what I have been for the past 20 years...a Genealogist.  So I spend what free time I have when I'm not working full time and trying to corral 4 school age children, wading in the gene pool, kicking up stones, to learn about those that have waded in before me.